Do nice girls finish last?

Standard

So you’ve heard the saying that nice guys finish last… So can the reverse be true? Do nice girls finish last? I’m a pretty nice person; I’m thoughtful, caring, considerate, generous with my time, affectionate, good sense of humor and not bad to look at. Why can’t I get a guy to be interested in me?

I’ve tried to meet people organically through friends of friends or work. I’ve tried tinder which has the rep as a hook up app (which I didn’t know). I’ve tried the more respectable online app, match.com and have gone on the most horrible date I’ve ever been on in my life (see my entry about paging Dr. Groper). I get a few guys interested in me and we may chat a little and then they disappear! Or if I don’t meet with them immediately they quit talking to me.

So I had some girl time with a girlfriend of mine the other night and her boyfriend happened to be there so I picked his brain about a guy’s perspective on dating. Did you know that most guys expect sex on the 3rd date? I had NO clue!! No wonder swim coach didn’t want anything to do with me after I didn’t sleep with him on the 3rd date. I had no idea these expectations existed. I think my ideals around dating are based upon my experiences in middle school and high school which are very naive.

So here I am, an attractive NICE girl and I can’t get a guy to see me for more than 1 or 2 months without them dropping me like a hot potato if I don’t open the gates to my secret garden within 3 dates. Do I not have enough intrigue and mystique to hold a guy’s attention? Do I need to put out to hold a guys attention? I guess I may be single for a very long time because this old fashioned gal doesn’t just sleep with anyone. She is still searching for that chivalrous knight in shining armor. I may be searching a long time :-/

Leave a comment