That empty nest feeling

Standard

There you are sitting in your house, surrounded by friends, family and loved ones and you are feeling so content with the environment. The house is alive with energy; children running around playing, people chatting about their lives, laughter and conversation are permeating the air. Thanksgiving Day was a fun time with family and conversation with the obligatory frustration that comes when family comes together. That time has passed and family has gone home, friends have moved on with their busy lives, and children gone with their parents.

You are left in your house with your thoughts and time to contemplate your life. Today is December 9th and is well past Thanksgiving but I had a moment to sit and contemplate my life. I am beyond happy with the progression of my life and how happy I am at this point in my life. I have a wonderful boyfriend who has filled me with so much happiness that I didn’t think I could be this happy. My son is really settling down into this new routine, loves school and and is making new friends. Life has taken on a new meaning; the shine shines a little brighter and the stars twinkle a little more brightly at night. Life is good.

As everyone rushes out the door to start their day at work or school I am left home alone with my thoughts. The energy of the house decreases and I feel a wave of emptiness. I understand how parents have that “empty nest” feeling and am so grateful when my son comes home from school and boyfriend comes over after a long day at the office. Do we take enough time out of our days to just be thankful for the small blessings in life? I don’t think so but I am going to start today.

Leave a comment